Tuesday, 27 November 2012

Molybdenum Disulfide – an inorganic analogue of Graphene and other interesting inorganic nanomaterials for the future

The technology scouting services arm of Del Stark Technology Solutions has published a new technology briefing on Molybdenum Disulfide (MoS2), which can be described as an inorganic analogue of Graphene.  Molybdenum Disulfide has demonstrated exciting properties including a low coefficient of friction, robustness and a direct electronic bandgap.  This has excited the research community and industry as future electronic circuits and components could be made from MoS2.  

Why is this of interest?  Graphene is currently grabbing the headlines and is the topic of many papers and patents including composite materials, conductive and transparent coatings and touch screen displays, but Graphene needs to be modified in order to create a bandgap and MoS2 exhibits a bandgap naturally.    Molybdenum disulfide has been used for many years as an industrial lubricant and many scientists believe it can be used as a 2-D platform for electronic devices.  MoS2 could radically impact the electronics industry and its growing area of research and product development in producing the next generation of transistors. 

The report highlights academic research published in 2012 that could be of interest to companies developing new technologies that involve inorganic nanomaterials.  The report also highlights companies and research organisations that are patenting.

Report Cost:  £350
(VAT is not charged)

View the Table of Contents:

To order your copy or to request further information please contact Del Stark via:
e: del@delstark.com                            
t: +44 (0) 7903 115 148

Wednesday, 7 November 2012

REACH Centre joins discussion on EU Definition of Nanomaterials

Dear Colleague,

We are pleased to announce that Matteo Dalla Valle from the REACH Centre as well as Denis Koltsov will now be joining us for our next Webinar.

Update on the EU Nanomaterials Definition:
Impact of Recent EU and JRC Publications

When: Wednesday 14th November
15:00 GMT (16:00 CET, 07:00 PST, 10:00 EST)
17:00 GMT (18:00 CET, 09:00 PST, 12:00 EST)

Register at: http://bit.ly/SMplu6

In this 30 minutes webinar we will:
             Review the JRC methods document and discuss the key conclusions and the challenges presented.
             Outline the EU's Second Regulatory Review and forthcoming legislation where it will have most impact.
             Report on the USA perspective concerning regulation of nanomaterials. This reporting will include matters tabled at SENN2012 - International Congress on Safety of Engineered Nanoparticles and Nanotechnologies, at the end of this month in Helsinki.

As part of this fully interactive presentation you will be able to put your question to Matteo, Denis and myself, so please take advantage of this opportunity to clarify any queries you may have.

To register either reply to this email or visit our registration page at http://bit.ly/SMplu6

Background Information

The six months since our last webinar on Nanomaterials has seen publication of two important documents:
             The Joint Research Centre (JRC) have produced Requirements on measurements for the implementation of the European Commission Definition of the Term "nanomaterial".
             The Commission of the European Union have published their Second Regulatory Review on Nanomaterials.

Whilst the first document describes potential characterisation methodologies for Nanomaterials, the second document emphasises the EU's support of the Nanomaterials definition from 2011 and restates intent that this be part of legislation.

For more information on the impact of these two documents and how NanoSight can help go to http://www.nanosight.com. 

Please join us for this informative and interactive webinar.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Warren

NanoSight Ltd
Minton Park, London Road, Amesbury, SP4 7RT, UK
T: +44 (0)1980 676060 F: +44 (0)1980 624703